Maddison, Wilson and Rashford named in England World Cup squad | Qatar World Cup 2022 Information


Coach Gareth Southgate has named his 26-man squad for the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

England has included in-form Leicester Metropolis midfielder James Maddison in its squad for the World Cup in Qatar, with forwards Callum Wilson and Marcus Rashford additionally chosen.

Maddison was a shocking inclusion for England when coach Gareth Southgate named his 26-man squad on Thursday.

The Leicester playmaker has made just one look for his nation, approaching in its place in a European Championship qualifier towards Montenegro in 2019.

The decision got here after he scored six targets and supplied 4 assists for Leicester this season.

Manchester United’s Rashford additionally discovered some goalscoring type this time period, which persuaded Southgate to deliver him again into the fold after he final appeared in its place within the Euro 2020 ultimate final July.

Newcastle striker Wilson was included together with Chelsea midfielder Conor Gallagher.

Brentford striker Ivan Toney missed out on choice with Wilson and Rashford most well-liked, after receiving his first call-up for Nations League fixtures towards Italy and Germany in September.

Southgate picked Kyle Walker, regardless of the Manchester Metropolis defender present process an operation on his groin final month, in addition to club-mate Kalvin Phillips, who underwent shoulder surgical procedure in September.

Within the absence of injured Chelsea proper again Reece James, Southgate picked Arsenal defender Ben White.

England will start their World Cup group marketing campaign towards Iran on November 21 earlier than dealing with the US and Wales in Group B.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw (each Manchester United), Eric Dier (Tottenham), John Stones, Kyle Walker (each Manchester Metropolis), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Conor Coady (Everton), Ben White (Arsenal), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount, Conor Gallagher (each Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester Metropolis)

Forwards: James Maddison (Leicester), Phil Foden, Jack Grealish (each Manchester Metropolis), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).

Supply hyperlink